Solent Boat Training Client Reviews

 
Add Review
First pagePrevious page123456789Next pageLast page

Power Boat 2 - Great course, highly recommended
Successfully completed PB2 yesterday (tue). Had a great time and met all my expectations. Hats off to Chris (Instr) for knowing when to say something and when to let us get on with it. Having moved to Powerboating from offshore sailing this was a great intro and I learned loads. Good balance of classroom, slow speed handling and planing to learn how to use the RIB safely. Took advantage of SBT accommodation on a lovely Bavaria 47. Plenty of room as you'd expect and kept in very good shape.
14/08/2019 15:16:25
 
 
Lovely School- Brian is the best!
Just completed my ICC Powerboat level 2 this weekend. Had such a good time- our instructor Brian was amazing... so patient, fun and clear. He really makes you feel at ease and empowers you so that you can tackle any challenge. We sailed in stormy conditions but felt fully in control as Brian was on the ball. The course was a good mix of practical and theory. Thank you! Yasmin and David
11/08/2019 15:20:05
 
 
Fantastic family time on Hebe (34ft Bavaria bareboat charter)
We (my husband, myself and our two older teenagers) chartered Hebe with this company having found them online. We haven’t visited The Solent for many years and only one of us has the Day Skipper qualification that was required (this requirement has changed since we booked and we now do not qualify!). Hebe is a 34ft Bavaria and is a beautiful boat. It was clean and fully equipped on our arrival and the staff who dealt with us on handover were efficient and showed us everything we needed to know and how/who to contact if anything further was required. We set off in quite strong winds but easily got to grips with the boat which was a pleasure to sail and stay on. We had no problems during our 4 night charter and handed the boat back over with ease. We would love to do this again as we had a fantastic time on Hebe, best another one of us gets Day skipper for next year so we can! Can’t fault this service.
09/08/2019 15:24:21
 
 
Day Skipper practical
Just come back from 5 day day skipper practical with Solent Boat Training. Excellent experience, intensive but very enjoyable. Instructor Tom was very patient and had the right level of humour and interest to keep me and other three candidates involved from start to finish. Yacht was great and the Solent is the place to learn about tidal sailing. Thoroughly recommended and very good value. Was just wanting to do Day Skipper but now am thinking seriously about Coastal Skipper.
05/08/2019 15:25:25
 
 
Power Boat Zero to Hero
A brilliant course with a very professional and experienced instructor. Our small group learned so much in a really fun environment. I stayed overnight on one of their boats which was perfect. I thoroughly recommend Solent Boat Charters and Training
02/08/2019 15:27:31
 
 
Marina Skills Sailing Course 1st Aug 19
My wife and I attended this one day course so we could refresh our parking skills. We don't own a 30ft plus sailing yacht but we enjoy chartering them and this course hits the spot between the two charters (Spring & Autumn) we take each year. Our coach for the day was Paul - very knowledgeable and a good communicator. He took our nice group of five through boat handling, its mechanics and techniques. A great day and one which will be repeated.
02/08/2019 15:26:27
 
 
Fantastic couple of days on the South coast with the great team at SBC
I spent a great couple of days with Ben and the team in the Solent last week, earning my Powerboat level 2 qualification. From the point of booking all the way through to the last goodbye, everything was handled in an extremely friendly and professional manner. The land-based facilities were great and the water-based ones even more so. The learning was challenging but the way that it was communicated made success achievable and fun. Highly recommended and hope to be going back in future for more courses. Thank you!
01/08/2019 15:28:47
 
 
Excellent in everyway!
Just completed my PB level 2, which I have to say was very informative, fun, relaxed, focused and of course well structured. We couldn't have asked for a better instructor in Peter Day, who was not only a good guy but a truly great instructor, who made it fun and deliberate along with various 'did you knows' on boating and the surrounding areas! He truly is passionate about boating and that comes across in his delivery. Was like 2 days with a friend! Cant wait until level 3....and beyond!
01/08/2019 13:51:45
 
 
PB Level 2 with a great crew!!
My wife and I completed PB 2 in July. The course was well designed, informative and most of all, great fun. The team at SBT ensured we covered all of the requirements, and tied each sector together nicely to create a complete picture to cement the learning goals. There was plenty of time to hone the practical skills, and in a really supportive environment, so we were all well versed in the fundamentals of PB handling. Cant wait to build on my newly acquired skills.
01/08/2019 13:47:04
 
 
Day skipper training course
2 comp crew and 2 day skippers spent 5 days with Georgie and had a great time, learning and practising. The instruction was clear and repeated if necessary with patience and Georgie was ready to step in to avoid any calamities until we were all able to go home with our certificates and the confidence and competence to continue our interest in sailing . Thank you Georgie and SBT
01/08/2019 08:35:58
 
 
A boat charter & training company that is in it for more than just money
One can only be impressed that Solent Boat Charter and Training offer a free VHF course with any other. This is a case of Solent Charter leading the way for the RYA who should include VHF within the Day Skipper course as standard. Thank you Solent Charter. NH
25/07/2019 13:54:08
 
 
Power Boat Level 2
My son and I completed the PB 2 course this week. I don’t normally complete reviews but I wanted to this time. Everything was exceptional. Louis, the lad who taught us, was brilliant. My son and I are still buzzing from the 2 days and we’re both now qualified. Great job. Thanks, Stuart & David.
25/07/2019 13:53:03
 
 
Wonderful learning experience
Did my Day Skipper Practical with Howard, who is a very thorough and dedicated instructor. He made sure we had plenty of opportunities to get hands-on and comfortable with details and manoeuvers that could safeguard one's journey on the sea. As I had relatively little sailing experience, this has been a marvellous learning journey working with the other skipper and comp crews. Would highly recommend it.
18/07/2019 13:55:22
 
 
Competent Crew with Day Skipper (5 day) - Excellent!
Just completed my Competent Crew with one other (a friend) and 2 Day Skippers. This worked really well and afforded us all plenty of ‘front line’ action. Despite our widely varying experience, under the expert guidance of our instructor Howard, who was excellent, we soon gelled into a cohesive crew. The course was delivered with patience and good humour, and at a steady pace over the 5 days, with the emphasis on hands-on learning. We were all given ample opportunities to practise the various techniques and procedures, and informal quizzes made the fact-based elements more engaging. Our Bavaria 37 was clean, well appointed and equipped, and the social aspect added to a thoroughly enjoyable week. Many thanks SBT and especially Howard.
15/07/2019 13:56:40
 
 
Day Skipper Practical, 2 day Mile Builder, Marina Skills, VHF - Excellent.
Very good training. The instructors were all very good and got me up to speed. Started with only competent crew and little additional Sailing experience. Boats are also in good conditions. Overall would definitely recommend and will use them in the future, possibly for RYA Coastal Skipper. Thanks
12/07/2019 14:01:51
 
 
PB2 course for teenagers and Coastal Skipper for Dad
Great instructors, good boats and a location that affords easy access and a good launch point for all courses.
12/07/2019 14:00:33
 
 
Great bareboat charter and excellent instructors on- and offshore
I charter regularly from Solent Boat Charters and did a few RYA training courses with them. The yachts are great, and I really enjoyed the courses (coastal skipper practical, VHF, and Diesel).
12/07/2019 13:59:04
 
 
Best instructors
Really nice professional instructors, highly recommend! Will be back to complete my next qualifications
12/07/2019 13:58:06
 
 
Competent Crew & VHF exam
Excellent week's training, along with another Competent Crew and 2 Day Skippers, and instructor Tom. The course exceeded my expectations, and Tom's knowledge and patience where outstanding. I'm already making plans to return to do my Day Skipper practical next year.
11/07/2019 15:55:03
 
 
Great course by very competent company
Just back from doing the RYA Level 2 Powerboat course. SBT's instructor Sam took three of us through the course, very patiently and thoroughly explaining everything we needed to know in order to gain the certification. Good mix of theory and practical boatwork with safety a key aspect of the course. Overnight accommodation aboard SBT's Inspiration Bavaria 49 yacht was good, too. If you want to do any courses associated with yachting or power boating I'd say this is the place that should be very high on your list.
04/07/2019 16:04:56
 
 


First pagePrevious page123456789Next pageLast page