Solent Boat Training Client Reviews

 
Add Review
First pagePrevious page123456789Next pageLast page

Great course, great people
I did the 5-day 'Competent Crew' course with Solent Boat Training (SBT), having never sailed before. This is the course required before Day Skipper Theory and then Day Skipper Practical, at which point one is able to charter yachts anywhere. It is an intensive course, packed with information, and living on the boat (although there are evening visits to the various marinas). My instructor was a lady named Steph and she was absolutely terrific: an extremely good sailor, of course, but whose expertise did not preclude her from being enormously patient and imparting her immense knowledge with extraordinary charm and good grace (despite many early mistakes by those she was teaching). The boat itself was great for learning to sail, quick but sturdy (Bavaria 38), and the food on board was actually extremely good, as was the accommodation. I am back to the Day Skipper Theory thing shortly, which I have also booked with SBT, as I will all subsequent phases of my training, as SBT is truly excellent, I could not recommend it highly enough.
11/10/2019 13:36:08
 
 
Full on but great fun
There was a lot of very useful and interesting information packed into a day but it was made very enjoyable by the instructors we had. As we’d had a previous course it was free for us and we only paid for the exam. Fantastic value.
11/10/2019 13:34:34
 
 
Highly Recommend Powerboat Level 2 Course
I took the L2 Powerboat course- the instructor, Chris, was incredibly diligent and patient, adapting to the different needs and ability levels on our boat. The facilities, kit provided (waterproofs) and boat were actually in very impressive condition. In addition, I stayed on the 49' sailing yacht provided within the cost of the course and this was more than enough for my needs. Would also be great for couples or families. All in all- this was a great course, really sociable and was I thought, great value. I looked to do similar in the US and it was seemingly double the price at least. Great course!
11/10/2019 13:32:59
 
 
Attended RYA Powerboat Intermediate Course
The trainer and team were very knowledgable and experienced with a friendly delivery promoting easy learning.
11/10/2019 13:30:31
 
 
Excellent competent crew course
A great week sailing around Southampton Water & The Solent in variable weather with the most patient instructor possible. I learnt loads and had lots of fun in the process. Highly recommended.
11/10/2019 13:28:38
 
 
Brilliant week
I recently completed the day skipper course with Solent Boat Training. Our instructor Steph was an excellent teacher, the boat was well maintained and I had a really enjoyable week. I would highly recommend Solent Boat Training to anyone. Many thanks to everyone involved.
11/10/2019 13:27:22
 
 
Great training course in testing conditions!
The training course was excellent, I highly recommend SBT and will use them again for further training. Thanks.
11/10/2019 13:26:07
 
 
Excellent training
Was very impressed with quality of training and instructor (Chris). Instructions were very accurate and accomodation was great,just need to remember excellent toilets are available on the marina only. Very limited number of participants made the training focussed and valuable. Thanks SBT, want to come back for more.
08/10/2019 13:52:21
 
 
Excellent two days
The training delivered by Paul was excellent. He had a very engaging approach which helped get the best from the me during the course. Excellent facilities and a perfect balance of classroom and hands learning. No hesitation in recommending.
03/10/2019 13:54:36
 
 
Excellent Centre with brilliant staff
I've done quite a few courses with SBT over the last few months in preparation for a future on the ocean and cannot recommend them enough. Friendly, helpful staff. Good, comfortable boats and nice coffee too. With the help of their instructors, I've progressed further towards my goals than I had hoped and had loads of fun along the way. I apologise as I know I'll forget to mention someone, but thank you Debs, Paul, Noel, Sean, Steph, Tom and the now absent Georgie. It's been a great experience!
01/10/2019 13:55:59
 
 
Excellent Power Boat 2 Course
An excellent two-day course with our instructor, Pete. His clear, methodical and engaging teaching style together with the low 3:1 student ratio ensured that we learned the theory quickly and got plenty of time behind the wheel to practise the techniques. With his great sense of humour and deep knowledge of local waters and history he managed to turn this course into what felt like a weekend of messing about in boats on the water.
30/09/2019 13:57:34
 
 
Power Boat 2 Training
From the initial enrollment through to the course completing, the whole experience was informative, professional with the right level of teaching appropriate for the mix of skills in our group.Chris our instructor is an incredibly knowledgeable person, great humour and an excellent tutor, a real credit to the company. I really appreciate having received the training, and certification, looking forward to the next steps. Finally anyone going on the water MUST undertake the training relevant for the type of watercraft.
29/09/2019 13:58:50
 
 
Competent Crew
I had a brilliant time on this comp crew course and learnt so much from our instructor Noel Hutchinson. His level of knowledge and style of instruction would put anyone at ease.
22/09/2019 14:14:43
 
 
Day Skipper Theory course
Excellent facilities, very good teachers and an organised structure to the courses makes it a great and enriching experience.
17/09/2019 14:17:13
 
 
Day Skipper Theory Course
Well paced learning, relaxed and patient tuition style, good class size and on board accommodation. Enjoyable and successful week. And keenly priced of course.
17/09/2019 14:15:57
 
 
Day Skipper Theory course
Tom was an excellent tutor. He had a mix of novices and experienced sailors, but always ensured that anyone struggling to grasp a new principle, was sympathetically dealt with. He was always prepared to give more time to any subject if needed.
15/09/2019 14:18:22
 
 
First class powerboat level 2 training course
After reading excellent reviews on Tripadvisor, this was my first experience of Solent Boat Training and I was not disappointed. The joining instructions were very helpful and Chris was an excellent instructor throughout the whole course, with very clear directions and guidance at all times, whether on the boat or in the classroom. It was a shame the (200hp) engine on the 7.5m XS RIB ‘Eagle’ broke down despite being regularly serviced (a freak fuel gasket failure) early on the first day, but Chris quickly rearranged the training schedule and a replacement 6m XS RIB ‘Kingfisher’ was brought out to us, so very little time was ultimately wasted on board. The free overnight accommodation on SBT’s 49’ yacht was extremely comfortable and the Shamrock Quay Marina toilet and shower block was spotless. Free car parking for the duration of the course right outside SBT was an added bonus. I was delighted to pass the course and receive my PB2 certificate from Chris, which I have now sent off to the RYA for my ICC. I will definitely be back for more courses - in fact I booked my free VHF radio course as soon as I got home!
14/09/2019 14:21:09
 
 
Fantastic Day Skippers 5-day course!
I recently attended SBT to complete my day skippers course. I booked the 5 day residential onboard course. As a professional instructor myself I was very impressed with our instructor/host Steph. From the outset she set a lovely welcoming tone for whole course. Her instruction was very clear, with an appropriate amount of leeway for us to learn through making mistakes without jumping all over us constantly. The boat, a Bavaria 38 was clean and well kept. Food for the course was supplied for breakfast and lunch and then pub meals in the evening which we purchased but overall was very nice. I can’t recommend Solent Boat Training enough. I thoroughly enjoyed the whole course which is in stark contrast with some friends who did the same course with a different provider in Chichester recently and were so disgusted with the training they received a full refund. I slightly regret completing my theory online and would have liked to have completed that with SBT as well in hindsight if I was a little more local. Highly recommended and don’t think that a competitive price for courses translates to lower standards because it most certainly doesn’t!
14/09/2019 14:19:38
 
 
Mr Dave Craddock
Completed my competent crew with Steph as an instructor, She was great and learned so much. I then went on to take my day skippers through the package deal, which was a good price. I’ve just finished my day skipper this week and passed. All the instructors Ive had were amazing and always happy to help if you are struggling. I would most definitely recommend SBT. I plan to come back to do my PB2. Thanks to SBT.
06/09/2019 14:22:54
 
 
Practical Day Skipper: great value for money
We hit the mark when we chose Solent Boat Charters and Training. There were three of us: two day skippers and one competent crew member. In my opinion, practice of mixing different categories is beneficial for everybody onboard. On our course we had two instructors: Mike and Steph. I really loved their styles of teaching and explaining some moments, that was super helpful. Be ready to do the same exercises lots of times :) Be ready to answer the questions from day skipper theory you'll be definitely asked. This sailing school is totally worth it, I strongly recommend it.
05/09/2019 14:24:06
 
 


First pagePrevious page123456789Next pageLast page