Solent Boat Training Client Reviews

 
Add Review
First pagePrevious page123456789Next pageLast page

Great centre
I did two courses here - VHF and ICC power boat 2. Both instructors were very professional, experienced and knowledgeable. They answered all the questions and had an infinite patience with students. The facility is good as well - has basic tea/coffee station, there is cafe and pub nearby and one can use Marina's toilets/showers. The classrooms are spacious, warm and bright.
25/01/2020 11:47:28
 
 
Powerboat level 2
Cannot imagine better experience, nice, packed up theory following by extensive practical learning. Instructor well prepared and very friendly.
20/01/2020 11:55:49
 
 
Vhf course
Just finished my vhf course and the quality of training was excellent the instructor was very thorough and answered any questions we had. Many thanks
20/01/2020 11:54:05
 
 
RYA powerboat advanced course
Excellent course, the instructor was superb, he was able to break things down and explain things in a way that I was able to understand and didn’t mind if I made mistakes. Nice boat, good kit, an all round great experience
20/01/2020 11:52:14
 
 
excellent training with Solent Boat Training
just had RYA Powerboat level 2 intermediate training done with Ben from the Solent Boat Training school, excellent instructor and fantastic coaching, highly recommend
20/01/2020 11:49:53
 
 
pb2 2 days course
great course and couldn't stop smiling all the time through the spray. encouraged me enough to continue through to advanced level just for fun even though it was only for yacht tender handling :-) good coverage of the safety stuff also great site facilities, accommodation, parking etc thoroughly recommended
19/01/2020 11:57:18
 
 
Day Skipper Practical
Complete the Day Skipper Practical (Monday to Friday) course , absolutely brilliant, very safe , great catering, excellent value, top notch instruction.
14/01/2020 11:59:12
 
 
powerboat L2
Really nice Instructor, who knew his stuff!! Thanks for a great two days and the stay onbaord one of the yachts was a really nice touch
13/01/2020 12:04:17
 
 
VHF SRC Course & exam
I did my RYA VHF course with SBT yesterday. Joining instructions were excellent and clear, including good pre-Reading. I was welcomed on arrival and everything explained well. The classroom was set up well with radios and other example equipment to show us. There’s quite a bit to cover but the pace of the training was good. We were put at ease by the examiner when he arrived. Even better, all passed! I’m very pleased with the day and look forward to doing more training with SBT in due course.
11/01/2020 12:16:31
 
 
RYA, SRC Marine Radio VHF
VHF radio training which was free! (What's not to like) followed by exam. Excellent instruction from Sean (Thank you). A well paced course, full of essential content to prepare for the end of day Short Range Radio Certificate Exam. Many thanks Sean, you have a completely natural, witty and informative style of teaching that lends itself brilliantly to compliment this classroom environment. And to Matt too. Thank you. You completely put us at ease for the formal exam to finish the day. Much appreciated.
11/01/2020 12:13:16
 
 
Cowes Week Yacht Racing
I just received an email from SBC about this years Cowes Week racing so immedialtely went to book becuase i know it sells out fast. I saw the bad review below and felt that I had to write about my expereince last year. I booked the Thursday and Friday last year. The boat trip over from Southampon on the Thursday morning was amazing and worth doing on it`s own. The day started with coffee and safety talk by Debie our skipper. Then we spent the whole morning sailing getting ready for the race start. Again the race was amazing, Debie was amazing, what an expereince. That night I stayed on boat in Cowes ready for day 2 but the weather was getting worse. Several new crew joined the boat on the Friday morning with the weather getting worse and worse. The race start was delayed several times, but we kept sailing. Eventually over the radio we heard the race was cancelled due to safety so we headed back to Cowes. We sailed nearly all day and Debs even went off and got 2 bottle of Proseco ( sorry to the other review must have driunk theres because i got half a bottle ). Still an amazing day. I think i have worked out who the other reviewer was, lets just say that 10 bagettes won`t have filled him up.
11/01/2020 12:09:46
 
 
Complete & utter rip-ff
This company load the boat with fare paying passngers for effectively a 'day's racing' during Cowes week including lunch. On my day, the afternoon sail was cancelled and for lunch we had a soggy bagette and half a glass of prosecco! In my book hardly worth £50 let alone the £200 I paid. Furthermore, I did not receive any follow-up email nor any offer of recompence for the lost sailing. I wouldn't sail with this company if they had the last boat in the Solent!
10/01/2020 14:29:28
 
 
Excellent weekend training
Spent the weekend with my 21 year old son doing the power boat 2 course. Have an excellent time training, really good fun despite the weather and great level of education. Stayed on the boat (free accommodation) which was fun too. Bryan the instructor asked us what we wanted to achieve and right down to the last minute ensured we had all got from the course what we wanted. Can rate this course and the company who provide it highly enough.
25/11/2019 12:21:33
 
 
Marine Skills
Very good course with a good instructor and good area to practise, but could be longer! One day is "ain't long enough". So will be going back for more.
19/11/2019 12:30:25
 
 
Diesel maintenance course, extremely well run would recommend to anyone who Sails regularly
Having recently bought an elderly yacht complete with elderly inboard Diesel engine I soon became aware how dependent I was on the motor functioning straight away when needed. Even though I sail in the solent and have sea start rescue i really wanted to be more confident in understanding how a Diesel engine works, how to look after it how to do simple maintainace and importantly how to diagnoses and fix problems in an emergency. This course didn’t disappoint. It is a one day course delivered to a small group of similar minded sailors. There are four engines to work on and there was ample opportunities for everyone to do practical procedures such as replacing filters and impellers and bleeding air. This is combined with a well structured theory talk delivered in small bite size blocks with plenty of breaks to ensure it never got tiring. I have to say it was me of the best RYA courses I have attended. It more than met my expectations and I came away more confident that I would be able to manage any problems that might occur whilst afloat. As such I would recommend this course to anyone who is likely to sail or motor cruise. I would certainly sign up to other courses they run as it is clear this is a well organised and run training company with user experience and safety at their forefront.
19/11/2019 12:26:02
 
 
It was a very well organized week with excellent qualified instructor.Learnt a lot really!
I went there to participate on a day skipper practical course. If you look for a place to gain experience being out at sea just like i was, solent boat training and the busy waters in that area will provide that to you. You learn from people with a solid boating background, and not to forget, with whom sailing with is also quite fun... all in all a very good deal! Thanks to the team of Solentboattraining!
19/11/2019 12:23:47
 
 
Great weeks training with SBT
Just completed a great Competent Crew training course with SBT in the Solent. The 37 ft Bavaria yacht ‘Gemini’ we used for the course was well maintained and equipped and was comfortable for the 3 students and 1 instructor on board, however I’m not so sure life would have been quite as comfortable with the fourth student who cancelled on the day, also on board. The crew was made up of 1 Day Skipper student and 2 Competent crew students with the course focusing on the training and assessment of the day skipper, the training for the competent crew was achieved through crewing the boat in support of the day skipper tasks. This set up allowed both sets of students to 'learn' at the appropriate level. The training/assessment was carried out by Debs Hurst who was excellent throughout, her delivery of the training through a mix of professional knowledge, wit, sarcasm and a genuine love of sailing, was for me, one of the highlights of the course. The food provided on board was basic but always hot and very welcome after a morning on the water, however if you don’t like pasta I would certainly think about bringing your own alternatives. Would I use SBT again, yes definitely and I would certainly request Debs as my Instructor for any future course
18/11/2019 14:31:49
 
 
Day skipper -- practical
Excellent 5-day practical course spanning over two weekends! We had two different instructors (Sam & Tom), which was of additional benefit, as each one had a slightly different angle of doing stuff. However, both were equally fantastic at explaining and teaching. But be warned: you are expected to have a good working knowledge of the day skipper theory, it doesn't need to be perfect, but this course is VERY hands-on and there's not much time for filling in large gaps of missing theory. The boat itself (Gemini) is a well maintained sailing yacht that offers enough comfort and space to live and sail on for the duration of the course. However, if you pull the short straw and have to sleep in the saloon (as I did), you might consider bringing ear plugs and eye shades, if you suffer from light sleep... =). Food (breakfast & lunch) is basic, but perfectly adequate for the kind of physical activity. Nevertheless, if you are not a fan of pasta/starchy food, maybe you should think about taking your own. Evenings were spent in various marinas -- all very nice with a whole variety of different pubs/restaurants. I really liked the fact that two day skippers and two competent crew were doing the course together, as this a) gives the day skippers a lot of time for practice and b) gives the competent crew a lot of additional information on the side and for free. All in all very recommended!
18/11/2019 12:33:11
 
 
First Aid at Sea and Power Boat 2
Absolutely brilliant on both courses.I’ve been doing various courses for a few years with different schools in the Solent, including Yacht-master and Coastal Skipper, but this was a cut above the rest. The First Aid was the best I’ve ever done and the instructor was informative and entertaining. I would definitely recommend a totally professional outfit. If I could give a sixth star for the review, I would.
17/11/2019 15:26:41
 
 
Competent Crew
Attended an excellent Competent Crew course 4-8 November. The course kicked off with our instructor, the legendary skipper Noel, taking some time getting to know us and our level of experience, which helped him adapt the course throughout the week to make sure we were being kept challenged and having a fun time sailing, in addition to covering the relevant parts of the syllabus. Noel and SBT really went the extra mile to ensure we were having a great time throughout the week, both at sea and ashore in the evenings, and helped us build confidence and skill throughout the course. Would very much recommend doing your sailing course with these guys and I will definitely come back for my Day Skipper.
17/11/2019 14:35:42
 
 


First pagePrevious page123456789Next pageLast page