Solent Boat Training Client Reviews

 
Add Review
First pagePrevious page123456789Next pageLast page

Competent crew
Competent crew very enjoyable week of sailing on the Solent with a group of nice people. The yacht master who was-doing a training allowed us to enjoy the experience however was professional all times giving us a safe environment to practice skills. And evenings social life was very nice going out to dinner as a group having a couple of beers before returning to the boat for a quiet night sleep would recommend to anyone as this experience is well worth The money we paid.
04/09/2019 14:25:13
 
 
Lovely day sail in the Solent
The day was just as advertised - customers of varying experience all engaged in a great day out. Our skipper Leo was excellent. Lunch at anchor in Osborn bay was followed by the anchor winch packing up (could happen to anyone!) but Leo managed the situation admirably. I will be back!
02/09/2019 14:26:23
 
 
Excellent delivery
Completed my day skipper theory with SBT, Tom was the instructor and all I can say is excellent. He's a great educator and brings everyone along at the appropriate pace. This is an intense week and it makes it with how the instructor delivers the course. Thank you Tom you were excellent. Also did my comp crew with SBT a few weeks before. Same goes for Karstein, what people need to realise is it's an important job, being in charge of a boat on the solent. It's no mean feat! He taught me so much in the 5 days on the boat which I'm sure can't be replicated, he has great knowledge and also a great sense of humour! Well done guys and thank you. Andy
01/09/2019 14:28:05
 
 
Competent crew course was fab.
I signed up to my comp crew to get myself ready to do some sailing with friends. I’m a complete novice and being female was looking for a safe reliable friendly experience I didn’t want to feel like as I was the only female I was a burden. I had a super time. I was given plenty of opportunities to do whatever the rest of the crew were doing even though they were doing day skipper. The instruction Tom was fab. Patient really knowledgeable and great company also. The whole operation was really professional and very good. Food was great too.
30/08/2019 14:29:25
 
 
Competent Crew Course - August 2019
Excellent!!! Howard was my instructor - fabulous teacher. I have gone from being quite unsure on a boat, to feeling really confident. We had all manner of conditions (from force 2 to 7) across two weekends, but all took so much from the course. Really impressed that boats were not rammed full - we all had our own private areas for sleep, which made a massive difference. Instructor training ability and professionalism was superb (if you get the choice, go with Howard). Couldn't speak more highly of the experience.
29/08/2019 14:33:20
 
 
Day Shipper Practical & Comp. Crew
Just completed my Day Skipper Practical with Solent Boat Training. My wife also did her Comp. Crew on the same boat. Big thank you to our instructor Howard. His delivery of the course really helped us build our confidence and overall it was a challenging but enjoyable couple of weekends.
29/08/2019 14:32:08
 
 
Coastal Skipper Practical - Solent Boat Training
Did my Day Skipper with Solent Boat Training (SBT) last year and followed it this year with the Coastal practical. As before I was very pleased with the standard of instruction, sharing of tips and experience and letting each of the students the opportunity to lead and to learn from each other. With accommodation on the yacht and breakfast/Lunch provided and all marina / fuel charges for 5 days of sailing, SBT course fees represent extremely good value for money. Thanks to Debs , our instructor for her patience, guidance and energy across the 5 days to make the week a success. Highly recommended.
29/08/2019 14:30:34
 
 
Great week for teenage son
My 15 year old took the five day RSA competent crew course towards the end of his long summer vacation. It was a big deal for him as he went “solo” so took pot luck on companions. He loved it: non-stop sailing action for 8 hours a day, sleeping overnight on the boat at different coastal towns in the Solent, a great mixture of adventure and education, constructive tiredness and self-discipline. The best possible introduction to proper sailing.
28/08/2019 14:47:15
 
 
Easy, professional and enjoyable
I came down from London to do my powerboat 2 course, it was very easy to get down and great to have a free bed for the night, really helped out. The area was perfect to learn in, nice and calm to start and then further out to the River Itchen for the higher speed learning. Instructor (Tom) was also great. The ribs were in great nick with new engines and GPS systems. Marking down 1 star only as the website makes a bit of a big deal about being in the ocean/Solent, whereas realistically most is done in the Itchen and then at the mouth of the Itchen which is Southampton water, so you don't make it down to the Solent. If I hadn't expected to go to the solent/ocean it would have definitely been 5*'s from me - would highly recommend for someone needing to do their PB2.
28/08/2019 14:43:49
 
 
RYA Powerboat Level 2 course
Had a great couple of days down at SBT doing the RYA Powerboat Level 2 course. Great facilities, everyone was really friendly and the instructor Russ was excellent. They've obviously been doing this for a while because they've thought of everything, free parking, efficient booking in on arrival, free accomodation, free tea/coffee, top quality equipment which is well maintained and great trainers. Couldn't fault it - thanks guys!
28/08/2019 14:42:18
 
 
Excellent day out.
Really good way to try sailing, great instructor and boat. Highly recommend it. The skipper took time to show us all “the ropes” it was a great day out.
28/08/2019 14:40:43
 
 
Day Skipper Practical
This review covers several courses I have now completed with SBT culminating (so far!) in my Day Skipper Practical. I have found all my courses with five different instructors now excellent. The boats are always in good condition, food good and the instructors have been great fun. Naturally different instructors have different approaches but I can honestly say every one I have found to be knowledgeable and friendly offering the right balance between teaching whilst keeping us safe. I plan to continue my training and will not be looking anywhere else but SBT
28/08/2019 14:39:29
 
 
POWERBOAT LEVEL 2 .. International Certificate of Competency
What a great company. I did my Royal Yachting Association Powerboat level 2 course with them. Our instructor was very knowledgeable, approachable and professional and it was two day of pleasure in a really good learning environment. I would have done this course for the help of it although it was out of necessity. Who gets to learn loads about seamanship and pilot a fast RIB in the Solent for £225.00 a pop? ME, THAT'S WHO! What a great two days spent... made my summer! Going back in September to take the VHF radio course and exam. The one day course was free on completion of their practical courses (see their website for details). The exam has to be paid for to the RYA. Looking forward to the trip to Solent boat training again but sadly no water this time. Great job guys.
28/08/2019 14:38:18
 
 
Three day mile builder
This was an excellent experience builder expertly delivered by our instructor Sam. Having only done competent crew previously (also with SBT) I came away feeling I'd achieved a great deal having successfully helmed the yacht and commanded the crew through various tacks and gybes as well as learning a lot about points of sail and the effect of wind and tides on yacht performance. Will definitely be training with SBT again.
26/08/2019 14:49:51
 
 
All that I hoped for to get day skipper certified.
My review covers a number of trading sessions with SBT covering March to May this year. Having been out of sailing for a number of years and wanting to be able to bareboat charter on holiday I decided to get qualified. Having previously done my comp crew with another provider in 2018 I chose SBT to study the theory then do the practical Day Skipper course. I carried out the theory course in March over two sessions fri to sun and sat / sun the next weekend. Technically speaking you could do the theory on line......or not at all. My honest opinion is don’t scrimp. I have my own motor boat in Haslar and am an experienced navigator but definitely benefitted by the in effect 1-2-1 instructors classroom training. There were others on my theory course who clearly were less experienced and IMHO would not have got the knowledge needed without this close supervision. I then booked on the day skipper practical for the following weekend ( while the theory was still fresh). The weather in March was not great with high winds all week forecast from the Sunday. My boat of 2 comp crew and 2 day skip plus instructor went out on the Monday trying to get in as much sailing as poss including the night sailing requirement of the course, finally getting back to the Itchen around midnight. Next day came the news the rest of the course was scrubbed ( discretion being the better part of valour) and the company owner took the unusual step of allowing us to rebook for no extra cost.....as I say it was very bad weather......not the usual 1 or poss 2 day you may expect to be tied up that time of the year. So I returned in May, this time all was well with the meteo. so I did a full 5 days including the night section ( which finished at 1am). My instructor Mike from NZ was a top bloke. Nothing ruffles this guy. I think a lot of how the week on day skip goes comes down to how well or otherwise the instructor an trainees gel. A tiring week no doubt, but you get out what you put in. Now bareboat chartering in the Greek Ionian islands. Happy result.
25/08/2019 14:58:59
 
 
Day Skipper Practical - August 2019
The Day Skipper Practical Course is both demanding and exciting in equal measure. Our instructor, Howard, made early and correct interventions in terms of our individual abilities and aptitude for the syllabus and conditions we were experiencing. Howard quite rightly engineered tasks which took us to our capability limits. After the first day we conducted a review of expectations from the course which amended the agenda for the week. From my point of view I gained an immense amount, however, realising I need more practical experience, have decided to retake the Day Skipper practical course. The arrangements, boat, catering and logistics, were perfectly executed and I enjoyed my week immensely. A big thank you to Howard for his honesty and guidance without undermining my confidence. A parallel would be to a car driving course where often, second time passes are preferable! I would thoroughly recommend this course and SBT.
25/08/2019 14:53:23
 
 
Tough but amazing weeks sailing
Thanks to Howard for getting me through my day skipper sailing course. Much harder than I thought it would be but a great week and mission accomplished. My advice is do as much sailing as you can before the course and go over your navigation. I di the theory course over a year ago any can’t believe how much I had forgotten. Thanks SBT.
24/08/2019 15:02:12
 
 
Great training venue with excellent trainers
I have done numerous courses over the last couple of years with SBT and the trainers are always excellent. The benefit of staying onsite, on one of their boats for multi day courses means you can be totally immersed in the course content. I would recommend them for any powerboat, motorboat, sailing or shore-based courses you intend to do.
20/08/2019 15:07:41
 
 
Great weekend of Powerboat training
Good value 2 days Powerboat course to satisfy ICC. Brian (instructor) was very experienced, personable and good fun. Highly recommend.
19/08/2019 15:10:55
 
 
Amazing PSB2 course with Chris and Russ
We did the PSB2 course over a weekend in August. The course was brilliant. Chris and Russ were both really excellent instructors. They were very professional and knowledgeable but also made the course exciting. It was great to do something that was fun but where we also acquired a new skill. Massively recommend it to you all.
18/08/2019 15:12:56
 
 


First pagePrevious page123456789Next pageLast page