Solent Boat Training Client Reviews

 
Add Review
First pagePrevious page123456789Next pageLast page

Intermediate Powerboat Course
Excellent instruction, boat, equipment and accommodation. Really delighted with the two days. Many thanks.
09/03/2020 10:55:04
 
 
RYA Training as it should be !
Completed my RYA level 3 'Intermediate' course last week with Sam our very experienced instructor. Any points that you don't understand Sam was happy to explains it again. I was advised to complete this course prior to doing the RYA 'Advanced Power boat' course and this was excellent advise blessed with hind site. Lastly the rib/equipment used during the course was also excellent
09/03/2020 10:50:58
 
 
Day skipper theory
The prospect of 5 days in a classroom learning the day skipper theory didn't fill me with enthusiasm, but the course was so well run and taught in a casual though fully structured way that the time flew by and left me wanting to learn more. I would recommend them to anyone that wanted to do develop their theoretical or practical boating skills further. Accommodation on a boat during the course was an added bonus. Already booked for my day skipper practical and cant wait!
09/03/2020 10:43:09
 
 
Absolute Outstanding
Such an amazing training centre. I did my VHF and PB Intermediate with them and can't recommend them highly enough. Everyone is super friendly and has a smile on their face. A big Thank You to Dom who was my instructor in both courses. He went above and beyond and his teaching is absolute outstanding!
09/03/2020 10:36:01
 
 
Relaxed and Friendly environment
The course was laid out quite well and the instructor was informative and knowledgeable. Facilities onsite were good also.
09/03/2020 10:09:26
 
 
Advanced training
It's not easy to get a good review out of Mr Bubbles, however, annoyingly, Solent Boat Training and their team deserve an excellent review. Personally, I found the website a little clunky, but it works really well and on-line booking and confirmation was a sinch. With ALL the information sent over straight away. The training room was suitable, free coffee - Mr Bubbles couldn't get enough of that! The advanced instructor that was young enough to be my son, but he was great. Sooo knowledgeable, knew what he was talking about and pitched it just right, with boundless energy, patience (let's not deny it!) and enthusiasm. Thanks Dom, I'll give you three plus two points out of five. (Dom knows what I mean!) Have already booked next courses. Thanks Mat and team.
09/03/2020 10:04:41
 
 
2 Day Mile Builder
Just got home after a fantastic 2 day mile builder and I'm still buzzing, even after a 4 hour journey each way to get there. Recorder 60 nautical miles in 2 days. Loved it and the weather held out, but only just. Dom was great lead Skipper/Instructor and I have learned so much, in turn my confidence has grown massively. I will be back for more
08/03/2020 10:58:29
 
 
first course towards my Day Skipper certification
I have booked my level 2 and 3 powerboat and my day skipper theory and practical to be completed between now and June, this was the first of those courses. We were fairly lucky (and quite brave) to book a sailing course in February in the Solent but fortunately the conditions were pretty good. Our instructor Ben was knowledgeable and relaxed and the boat and equipment was very good quality. I already own a small powerboat but i was a complete novice having taken my boat out on a tidal river previously with no experience this course really got me up to speed with safety, tides, wind, currents, boat handling and the beginnings of basic navigation. there was three of us and the instructor on the boat which meant we all got a good session in handling the craft. the facilities on site are good with a decent cafe and very clean toilet facilities. Overall a great and informative experience, looking forward to the next level of which advice was given regarding literature and preparation (hopefully i will have the time to take advantage of this) as a bonus i didn't even get wet :-)
20/02/2020 11:02:44
 
 
Power Boat Level 2 course
Excellent communication following booking. Easy to find, great facility. Knowledgable instructor (Ben) , who, despie the terrible weather conditions, kept us enthused, gave good instruction, praise and advice. I would definately recommend this RYA training facility. These guys represent the RYA in a very professional manner whilst keeping the learning fun.Thanks guys.
17/02/2020 11:22:06
 
 
Competent Crew
I had a great time on the Competent Crew course with Solent Boat Charters & Training. It was well run and the instruction from Leo was comprehensive and professional. Good value for money too. Highly recommended!
17/02/2020 11:20:08
 
 
Competent Crew (Sailing)
I have just spent 5 days on the competent crew course with Solent Boat Training. The course was excellent value and our instructor, Leo, was fantastic. I had a wonderful time and met some great people. The sailing was great fun and I learned so much in a short space of time. Even storm Dennis didn’t hold us back! Thank you very much indeed - I will certainly be back in the future.
17/02/2020 11:17:55
 
 
RYA Diesel Engine Course
Very enthusiastic tutor who communicated quickly and effectively. My partner and I went from knowing nothing about the subject to feeling confident to service an engine in 6 hours. Hands on opportunity was great as was seeing a few different models of engine in the flesh.
17/02/2020 11:07:30
 
 
RYA Powerboat level 2
All starting from a boating trip while on holiday last year in Croatia, because I didnt have the correct licence to enable me to hire the larger boats, I had to be content with the smaller versions, which was in its self an amazing experience and left me wanting expland my knolwedge and star the process of also gainning a licence. Having trawled through the many companies availble, as a xmas present my partner chose SBT as my place of training. ( Brilliant Choice), My course trainer was Chris, an extremely knowledgeable and experienced professional, a very pleasent and aminiable guy, understanding of the varing levels of boating experience of his students and creating a sence of ease for those less knowlegable. The whole two days where very well organised and planned to accomadate everything, (Including Storm Ciar ) :-) and the Solent has everything to test the skills you may already have or yet tho learn If your thinking of taking a training course in any form of Boating, seriously look no futher than SBT, First Class!
12/02/2020 11:24:09
 
 
PB 2
A good course leaving me confident and proficient in boat handling. Able to manoeuvre at high speed and slow.
07/02/2020 11:31:55
 
 
Fast and furious 1st Aid Course
There is a lot to cover in the RYA 1st Aid course, but the instructor (Sean) kept up the necessary pace, and was lively throughout. There was no chance to fall asleep. The practical sessions were managed very effectively.
07/02/2020 11:30:02
 
 
First Aid Course
I have used Solent Boat Charters and Training several timers for a variety of courses and they have always provided an excellent, value for money and very professional service. I highly recommend them.
07/02/2020 11:27:44
 
 
Competent Crew course in mid January.
Had a great time, learnt loads and gained confidence. Thank you Ben (our Instructor) We may see you out and about the Solent in due course. Was anticipating rough weather for the week but as it turned out it was a good week with clear but cold skies and no more than F4.
01/02/2020 11:33:20
 
 
Day Skipper practical w Paul
Great centre for Day Skipper training - and with Paul we had an outstanding instructor who supported, taught and encouraged us, but at the same time ensured that we developed our own instincts to react quickly and appropriately in challenging situations. I really can't rate this centre highly enough.
31/01/2020 11:35:13
 
 
Powerboat Level 2 Training Course
Excellent course, run by an extremely competent instructor using latest equipment. The instructor's teaching method made learning an enjoyable experience. Look forward to booking another course. Highly recommended.
30/01/2020 11:36:59
 
 
RYA Diesel Engine course
Very good course and instructor. Good location, Attendees need to be aware getting through Southampton traffic for a 9:30 start is difficult so leave plenty of time. Southampton must have the longest traffic light timing of any place in the UK. Solent C, Manager at Solent Boat Charters & Training, responded to this review Responded 28 January 2020 Hi Thanks for the great review. With so many engines to play with in our dedicated workshop I feel we do offer a good course. The roadworks in the centre of Southampton are due to finish is March 2020 ( only a month or so away, then it will be fine. Maybe allow an extra 30 minutes currently.)
27/01/2020 11:43:40
 
 


First pagePrevious page123456789Next pageLast page